Site Map  |  Quicklinks  |  Contact Us
Bookmark and Share     

About Us Board of Directors Artistic Staff Administrative Staff Employment Opportunities Frequently Asked Questions Emergency Plan Contact Us
AYP AYSO AYCO AYSE AYDO Percussion Ensemble Chamber Ensemble Music Buddies General Information
Event Schedule Guest Artists Concert Venues Listen to our Musicians Concert Recordings Watch AYPO in Action Advertise With Us
Donate Support Us Individual Gifts Corporate Sponsorship Why Donate? Volunteer Merchandise Grocery Cards
Alumni Where are They Now? Volunteer Opportunities Support AYPO
Vivace Newsletter Names of Note Press
Private Teachers Competitions, Scholarships Master Classes, Courses, Seminars University, Conservatory Programs Summer Music Programs, Festivals
General Info Process/Requirements Excerpts Schedule Results Frequently Asked Questions Apply Online
Season Schedule Member Handbook School Music Participation
Contact Us Weekly Email Archive Season Schedule Event Schedule Donate About AYPO Audition Information Acceptance Forms Member Homepage Join Our Email List Order Concert CDs

Board of Directors 2015-2016

Board members are volunteers who comprise the governing body of AYPO. The Board of Directors is responsible for approving policy, provides leadership in fundraising activities, and is legally responsible for the organization. They meet bi-monthly with the Executive Director (see the Season Schedule for details). Members interested in learning about board service or attending a meeting should contact the Executive Director at 703-642-8053 or exec@aypo.org.

Robert Sollinger, President*

Michael Blakeslee, Vice President of Education, Past President*
NAfME: National Association for Music Education

William S. Hong, Secretary*
Institute for Defense Analyses

Larry Lu, Treasurer*
Open Concept Systems

Tim Hoechst
Chair, Budget Committee

Karen Leyva*
Chair, Development
Leyva Strategies, LLC

Lara Cole
National Cable and Telecommunications Association

Andrew Creighton
Attorney, Washington, DC

Bob Cunningham
Cabot Consultants

Peter de Boor
Professional Musician

Lee Grossman

Neeta Helms
Classical Movements

Jeanie Kartalian

Patti Reid*
Civic Leader

Brad W. Spencer

John Thomann

*Indicates member of the Executive Committee

Honorary Board of Directors

Margaret Adams, Past President
Civic Leader

Luis Haza
AYPO Music Director Emeritus

Margaret Makris
Civic Leader

William McSweeny
Chevy Chase Bank

Alma Powell
America's Promise Alliance for Youth

Arturo Sandoval

Leonard Slatkin
Music Director, Detroit Symphony Orchestra